No Time

It almost goes without saying, we live in a busy world with a lot of demands of our time.  The funny thing is, I do not remember this as a kid.  I was born into it, and it seemed natural.  However, the older I have become the more I remember the carefree days of my youth.  I am afraid that my kids, born into the busyness of their world will one day long for the carefree days of their youth.  Things just seem to be growing at an exponential pace.  

Back in the 1930’s the term “rat race” began to be used. A quick search of a definition says this is the unpleasant life of people who have jobs that require them to work very hard in order to compete with others for money, power, status, etc.  In other words, It refers to doing anything that takes all your time and energy to “get ahead” while leaving no time for rest, relaxation, and renewal. 

Even when we go on vacation, from the casual observation, we are not escaping.  In fact, I am guilty of this same thing.  Having, just come back from a vacation with my family, I noticed how little time I spent just doing nothing.  I was planning the next thing we would do, whether it was a meal, experiencing an event, or riding an amusement park ride.  Even 48 hours before my flight home I was setting alarms and reminders for me to check in to my flight 24 hours before it took off!

No wonder cases of depression, anxiety, and mental health disorders are on the rise.  Especially in our youth!

According to the World Health Organization (WHO) more and more people are living with this type of stress in their lives. (See the article here). The statistics are startling!  Just take a look at the most recent report published by Mental Health America. I have noticed in my own life that my cup is very full and that I too am becoming a statistic.

I am more emotional, I do not have the mental energy I have had in the past, and my favorite activity (for this extrovert who gets energy from people) is to just sit and do nothing.  I have been in the “rat race” and it has taken its toll.

I suppose I am writing this, not only as a confessional, but also as therapy, trying to be transparent.  I need to get back to the things I love, the things that empty my cup and do not cause it to overflow. I need to create margin in my life for the things that bring renewal.  

Margin does not mean that I will not love any less, care any less, or have less compassion in my life or in my calling.  It just means I need to find the space to take care of myself.  Otherwise I will not be able to love my wife, my children, or others as I need to (and want to) love. Margin is that space in your life that you purposely rest, take time to renew and to recharge.  We all need it!  

When I was in seminary we a had a class on pastoral self care where we were require to read the book Boundaries by Dr. Henry Cloud and John Townsend. It explained that, “Having clear boundaries was essential to a healthy, balanced lifestyle.” Healthy boundaries, whether they are physical, mental, emotional, or spiritual, help us set limits. They create margin in our lives so we can, in a healthy way, find balance and determine those things in our lives for which we are responsible. Boundaries help us make time for those things that renew, recharge, and reenergize us.

For me, reestablishing boundaries will create the margin where I can write again. I find that it is important for my mental health, but in reality is it something I have neglected. Just take a look at this blog.  It has been a solid 11 years since I have posted anything. That is too long. Way too long. Writing helps me empty my cup so I have room in my life.

Hopefully you have been inspired to take a deep look at your own life and will begin to take steps you need to take to create margin in you life.

Until next time….

Pastor Barry

2 thoughts on “No Time”

Leave a comment